Combat Fan Page Discussion Forum: About the Actors: Vic Morrow: Everything I Learned From Sgt. Saunders.
By Nancy LionStorm (349hvywpnscrew) on Unrecorded Date:

Combat! fan Red Dragon brought this comment to the Combat Discussion List's attention that was published on the IMDb web site. I think it is a wonderful tribute to Vic Morrow's artistic skill. The author of this tribute is "rcastagnaro... Near dallas, TX, USA"

Date: 3 January 2000
Summary: Everything I learned about leadership, I learned from Sgt. Saunders.

I am a Lt Col in the US Military reserves. I was an operational combat arms leader for many years. I am now a senior manager in industry. I did not realize until I began recording and viewing reruns of Combat! that Sergeant Chip Saunders was a Samurai warrior (in the finest tradition of Akira Kurisawa) placed into the role of a Squad leader in a U.S. Army Infantry Platoon in France in WWII. His portrayal is pure Zen! I have been unknowingly imitating him my entire life. I am thankful for it. People who work for me seem to be too.

By Brenda Koehler (Jasmine) on Unrecorded Date:

What a cool message! What qualities of a Samurai evoke this comparison? Is it because they are bound by a strict moral code or are there more specific details? I think it would be interesting if someone could enlarge on this concept.

By Nathaniel Bridger (Nathaniel) on Unrecorded Date:

The code of Bushido --"Way of the Warrior"--indeed had personal "honor" at its heart. But the Samurai were also devotees of Zen Buddhism (as opposed to the Shinto that was the official "state religion" of Feudal Japan). The tenets of Zen hold that Truth is found in seeming contradictions: "He who wins, also loses" and that kind of thing. In Zen there are no "right" answers to most dilemmas, and only he who "expects nothing" --including victory, or even personal survival--gains in the end. a fanous Zen "Warrior Poem" goes something like this:

"Under the lifted sword,
Hell's mouth yawns wide;