Combat Fan Page Discussion Forum: About the Actors: Vic Morrow: Vic's Death
By Kate Godiva (Kate) (152.163.206.193) on Friday, June 28, 2002 - 10:54 pm:

I was 10 years old in 1982 when Victor "Vic" Morrow died, and I remember seeing the trial on television all the time .. I was too young to realize who Vic was .. I first saw my first episode of COMBAT! in 2002, when I was 29 years old .. I was born on June 13, 1972 .. Yes, I am 30 years old now .. Now, I am so depressed about Vic's death .. I wish Vic had a stunt double .. I wish I had met Vic .. What did you all do after you heard about Vic's death .. ?

I am using WordPad ..

By MICHELE LARGEY (Camoufanne) (216.20.102.98) on Monday, July 01, 2002 - 12:35 am:

Dear Kate -
COMBAT! came on when I was a freshman in college. My father & brothers watched it but I was too busy studying. By the time Vic Morrow died, I had been living in an apartment for ten years without TV. When you said you remembered seeing the trial all the time, that was the first I heard that the trial was televised. I wish I had been able to see it. I didn't find out about the manner of Vic's death until a couple of years ago when I became a COMBAT! fan. It seemed every time I mentioned COMBAT! to people, they'd say, "Isn't he the one who...?"
One thing that comforted me a little was reading Dick Peabody's article "In Harm's Way" on this website. Maybe it would do the same for you.
I think we all share your wish that Vic had used a stunt double, but as Dick Peabody (Littlejohn) points out, his last words were "I've got to be
crazy to do this shot. I should've asked for a double." I believe I also read somewhere that, some months earlier, Vic had dreamed that he would be killed by helicopter. I've also had the experience of ignoring life's warnings, with disastrous consequences.