Combat Fan Page Discussion Forum: General Discussion: Dogface
By Sharon Hazlett (Ivy) on Unrecorded Date:

Can anyone tell me where the affectionately derogatory term "dogface" comes from??

By Nathaniel Bridger (Nathaniel) on Unrecorded Date:

Well...assuming the term wasn't coined by the Immortal Combat Journalist, Ernie Pyle, it was certainly perpetuated by the "THIRD INFANTRY DIVISION THEME SONG"--The Third Inf. being Audie Murphy's outfir. Lyrics (Politically Incorrect) follow:

I Wouldn't Give A Bean
To Be A Fancy Pants Marine
I'd rather Be A Dogfaced Soldier, Like I Am.

I Wouldn't Trade My Old O.D.'s
For All The Navy's Dungarees
For I'm The Walking Pride Of Uncle Sam;

On All The Posters That I've seen
It Says The Army's Building Men
So They're Tearing Me Down, To Build Me Over Again

I'm Just A Dogface Soldier
With A Rifle On My Shoulder
And I Eat A Kraut For Breakfast Everyd-a-a-y---

So Feed Me Ammunition,
Keep Me In The Third Division,
..Your Dogfaced Soldier Boy's Gonna Be Okay!

|

By Nancy LionStorm (349hvywpnscrew) on Unrecorded Date:

What a great song. I always figured that "Dog Face" referred to how a G.I. looks when he hasn't had a shave in a long time.

By Nathaniel Bridger (Nathaniel) on Unrecorded Date:

Further to the above...According to Major General Albert O. Connor, a former Third Division Commander, "The term 'dog face' is an old one in our Army, dating back to the Indian Wars."

Who'da thunk it??

By Nancy LionStorm (349hvywpnscrew) on Unrecorded Date:

Here's an interesting quote from page 149 in the WWII section of the book, "WAR SLANG: American Fighting Words and Phrases from the Civil War to the Gulf War" by Paul Dickson, 1994.