Combat Fan Page Discussion Forum: General Discussion: Kirby's BAR
By ranger94 on Unrecorded Date:

I am a WW2 reeanactor and carry a BAR. This is an actual working fully auto BAR that is blank adapted for public battles and private tacticals, so I am very familiar with the weight of this weapon, 17 plus pounds. This tends to get pretty heavy , pretty fast. It appears to me that Kirby weilds his BAR like it weighs alot less, but his BAR fires and could not be a dummy(light) gun. Does anyone know the details of the weapons used, IE actual or dummy, and if so how they were blank adapted?? Thanks

By Dana Eugene Creasy (Deecee322) on Unrecorded Date:

Jack Hogan carried a real M1918A2 Browning Automatic Rifle which was, of course, modified according to industry rules to non-live ammo firing condition (I work in the television/film industry). As you say, even in that condition, the weight approaches the full combat load of nearly 40 poounds, with 12 magazine bandoleer belt, as the blank rounds don't weigh a heck of a lot less than live, M2 ball ammo. You will notice that he maintained the folding bipod on the front, when most infantrymen removed it, thus saving nearly 2.5 pounds in added weight. Jack was a real bear, lugging that thing through five years or production. While shots are generally less than a minute or so in length, with time off in between for changing setups, the weapon is stil pretty heavy hanging around your neck and shoulders, so for a Navy man, he got to feel what a real grunt feels like.

By Ranger94 on Unrecorded Date:

Dana , thanks for the info. Could you tell me a little more about how the weaqpons were used and blank adapted? Also were those fully auto MG-42's and MP-40's?Thanks

By Louis Vierne on Friday, April 05, 2002 - 02:38 am:

I can tell you a bit - all weapons used in film must be able to look authentic firing blanks.